May 8, 2016 | Life & Culture

Chilean Cultural heritage

Chilean Cultural heritage | Marca Chile

This patrimony, found across the length of the Chilean nation, includes numerous Unesco World Heritage sites established in accordance with the 1972 World Heritage Convention, ratified by Chile in 1980.

Among these are Rapa Nui National park, declared a site of world heritage in 1995, the churches of Chiloé (2000), the historic neighborhood of port city Valparaíso (2003), the Humberstone and Santa Laura saltpeter works (2005) and the mining city of Sewell (2006).

In 1999, Chile established the Day of Cultural Heritage to recognize architectural, historical and cultural patrimony in the Andean nation.


Related news

Websites of interest